BlackBoardIT Help DeskPirateIDIndexEmail and PhoneOneStopCalendarAccessibility

Howard House

Building History
Other Names: none Howard House, 1982
Date Built: 1923
Date Razed:
Cost of Construction: not known
Gross Square Feet: 3,488
Assignable Square Feet: 3,138
Architects: not known

Namesake: Howard House is named after the second owner Charles W. Howard (1886-1953). Mr. Howard was born in Durham County and moved with his wife Hannah to Greenville in 1927. He was founder, president and treasurer of Greenville Tobacco Company. He also served as director of the State Bank and Trust Company, president of the Greenville Chamber of Commerce and the Greenville Tobacco Board of Trade. Hannah Howard continued to live in the home until her death in 1980.

History: Built in 1923 by William Bryan of Grimesland, the architecture combines elements of the colonial revival and the picturesque styles. The symmetrical façade is seven bays wide, with a triple set of small cross gables accenting the front of the house. Mock half-timbering enlivens the gable ends, as do the dressed stone chimneys. The roof is made of slate. ECU acquired Howard House on August 13, 1981 at a cost of $55,000 and began to renovate it for office use. The house was first used by ECU as the Traffic Department creating a number of protests in the neighborhood because it caused traffic congestion in a residential area. Subsequently the Traffic Department, in late 1984, moved into new quarters on 10th Street and the ECU News Bureau and the Public Relations office then moved into Howard House. This house is located across from the Spilman Building.

Additions: 1981 - Renovated for office use

Joyner Library - ECU

Tell a friend about this page.
All fields required.
Can be sent to only one email address at a time.
Joyner Library, East Carolina University
East Fifth Street | Greenville, NC 27858-4353 USA
252.328.6518 | Contact Webmaster
© 2013 | Terms of Use | Last Updated: 2013-03-15
Give To East Carolina University